Drawing 3 – It’s cold in space…

3 comments
1000 drawings, Comic Art

… Even rocket lolly astronauts need to wear roll-neck jumpers.

image

Theme #2 of the French Inktober challenge: “ice cream”. This time I wanted to work with a dramatic composition and perspective, hence the ant’s eye view.

From my previous drawings, I wanted to draw on better quality paper (watercolour paper rather than tracing paper), and I used my new lightbox I bought off a lovely local children’s books illustrator who’s changing course in life.

Looking at this, I’d like to perfect my bolder lines a bit (the pen nibs I have just aren’t bold enough so have ordered a pentel brush pen). Also feel like my lines could be a bit more fluid like they are with my pencils. Lots of ideas for drawing no.4.

Later addition:
image

Wow. Painting with ink is a heck of a lot harder than I expected. Not quite what I had in mind… Back to the drawing board!

3 thoughts on “Drawing 3 – It’s cold in space…”

  1. Pingback: 133 – Luchadora Mizzle pop art | 1000 drawings by Cat Byrne

  2. Aw thanks, it wasn’t at all what I had hoped for. I remember it feeling like a massive letdown at the time. I think I’m too hard on myself sometimes šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

