#55 – Daphné (portrait)

Leave a comment
1000 drawings, Life drawing, Portraits

image

It’s official. I hate making portraits.

This was the third (and last) in this series of poorly represented nieces. I’d drawn it a month back but had nearly binned it in frustration of it looking too mechanical. But Daphné liked it so I carried on, agreeing to paint it in B&W.

Still, I don’t like it too much. But i’m posting it here because this blog is about my journey of self discovery as an artist and identifying what styles work for me, and what makes me lose the will to live. This piece qualifies as the latter.

But saying that, I now know what I DON’T want to do, so it wasn’t a complete waste of time.

Leave a Reply

