#77 – pencil portrait

Leave a comment
1000 drawings, Life drawing, Portraits

image A pencil facial study for some work I’ve got in mind. Nothing too technical here; done with an HB cheapo mechanical pencil. But I’ve not drawn in pencil for a while, and I’d forgotten how therapeutic the process is. Firstly it’s a lot more forgiving than watercolour! But also, it reinforced in my mind the concept that there are no lines, just contrast and shadows — some soft and some sharp. And while I was zoning out this thought stuck in my head… Like musical instruments, the tools you use in art each have their own techniques and personalities. But the underlying process is the same; how you use them to retell the values that your eye perceives.

Leave a Reply

