124 – Wyndham’s Oak tree

Leave a comment
1000 drawings, Contrast sketchbook, Illustration, Nature

image

Second in my series of texture studies, here is Wyndham’s Oak in Dorset.

I based it on a photo in a book I have called Heritage Trees of Britain & Northern Ireland. I picked this one specifically because of its landscape format and silhouette quality; the goal with this exercise is to tackle complex subject matters, to push me out of my comfort zone. I also liked how spooky it looks.

It wasn’t until halfway through the drawing that I read the writeup about this particular tree. No wonder it looks spooky…

Wyndham’s Oak was, in the late 17th century, a hanging tree – or ‘gibbet’ tree. It was the location of the grim demise of people who had revolted against the newly crowned James II, in favour of Charles II’s illegitimate son the Duke of Monmouth.

As with all the studies in this sketchbook, the left side is monochromatic, and the right in colour. This piece is in black ink and watercolour.

Original photograph by Jon Stokes.

Leave a Reply

