143 & 144 – Anita (life drawing)

2 comments
1000 drawings, Life drawing

Anita 7 watercolor life figure drawing by Cat Byrne

Anita 7
40 minutes, watercolour and ink.

I tried something different here… I laid down the foundations with a brush and diluted black watercolour — instead of using pencils.

Hence why the construction is all over the place. Don’t think I’ll try that again for a while.

Anita 8 - watercolour life figure drawing by Cat Byrne

Anita 8
Again, 40 minutes, watercolour & ink

I love painting Anita. I love her half-red fringe, her rock chick attitude, and her tattoos. I always try and get them in best I can.

Fortunate for me then that I brought my new bright blue ink with me; I used it here for her eyes and the tattoo of the two dutch children.

Also for the iconic circle behind her head, which is in pure ink straight out of the bottle.

Anita really poses, as opposed to sits still, and it inspired me to make an iconic portrait. Even if the face isn’t 100% quite right, I’m still happy with it

…Well today anyway. My appreciation of my own work has a very short lifespan.

2 thoughts on “143 & 144 – Anita (life drawing)”

  1. You made me laugh with the comment on lifespan of work appreciation – it resonates. I sometimes find I come full circle on a picture. Hate it, like it, like parts of it, dislike it… By the way, I do like these, especially the portrait. She looks so strong.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      Yeah it’s funny isn’t it? Stare at it long enough and you start to pick it apart… Or inversely pieces you hate right away grow on you after a while. Why do we do this to ourselves?? 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

