Tasha 2 life drawing by Cat Byrne

182 – Tasha 2

10 comments
1000 drawings, Life drawing

This piece is my new favourite; I’m so pleased with how it came out. Tasha posed so beautifully, and is so pretty, I was inspired in this pose to try my hand at an Art Nouveau-inspired piece (and in particular inspired by Alphonse Mucha).

Available as a limited edition print on my shop >

But it was very nearly a complete flop.

I’d originally, during the pose, laidΒ  the foundations for a watercolour background. It was okay, but it needed more. When I got home, I thought I’d bump it up with a wash of green ink. But as with my previous work on “Tasha 1”, it was just too vivid.

Not giving up, I applied a coat of green acrylic paint, but it was too uniform, and too dark for my liking. So I applied a second acrylic coat of a lighter green. The colour was better, but still I missed the depth and detail of the original layer.

I was so disheartened by this point, but then I thought… fabric? I went through my stash and found a few candidates. This one fit the bill exactly, and it was just sheer enough to let some of the green through. Laying it down was a proper b***h though. Pardon my language, but it really was finicky. Would have been easier perhaps if I’d ironed the fabric first, but there’s very little in this world that makes me dust off the ironing board. And actually I quite like the ripples, it gives it a bit that extra grittiness which (I like to think) balances out the delicateness nicely. That’s kinda me in a nutshell, I guess. Delicate and gritty πŸ™‚

So there’s me about to lay the glue down, in a last desperate attempt to repair this painting. Have you ever taken a pritt-stick to your favourite work? It’s terrifying. But I’m so, so pleased with how it came out.

Sometime in the near future, I’d like to experiment with backgrounds more, so that I can create interesting backgrounds with more confidence.

1 hour pose + background faff.
Mixed media: pencil, watercolour, ink, acrylic, fabric

Tasha 2 mixed media life drawing by Cat Byrne

Available as a limited edition print on my shop >

10 thoughts on “182 – Tasha 2”

    • Thanks! It passes the piece into the craft world though. Nothing wrong with that, I guess; it’s effective, but ideally I’d love to create cool backgrounds myself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

