192 – Mister JJJ

12 comments
1000 drawings, Comic Art, Commissions, Portraits

image

Still practising my high-contrast inks ahead of a comic project I’m working on with Mert Yeygün, here’s a portrait of Mert that I promised him a few weeks back.

It came out more arty, and less comic-inky than I was aiming for, so I’ll be doing some more practice.

Mert blogs comic panels and art over on tumblr. Do have a look:
Mister JJJ’s Secret Empire
Mister JJJ’s Killiseum
Mister JJJ Character Creations

UPDATE JANUARY 2016!
Mert and I have launched Out of Hours Comics – a collection of dark & twisted short stories that are free to read and share. We publish these on tumblr (and to a lesser extent Tapastic).

12 thoughts on “192 – Mister JJJ”

  1. Moody! I like what you’ve done with just a few lines and block black. I’d love to be able to step back from the detail and see the bigger picture like this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Rebecca! It’s not as block black as I anticipated, but I stopped myself before wrecking it. I’ve since ordered a book on comic inks which focuses on exactly that, so hopefully it’ll help me with that breakthrough.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 309 – Launch of Out of Hours Comics! | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  3. Pingback: 310 – Mr Omega Cover | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  4. Pingback: 311 – Page 1 of Mr Omega | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  5. Pingback: 312 – Page 2 of Mr Omega | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  6. Pingback: 313 – Page 3 of Mr Omega | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  7. Pingback: 314 – Page 4 of Mr Omega | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  8. Pingback: 315 – Page 5 of Mr Omega | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  9. Pingback: 316 – Page 6 of Mr Omega | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  10. Pingback: 351-352 Seraphium | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

Leave a Reply

