282-285 Lesley

2 comments
1000 drawings, Life drawing, Portraits

lesley15

Lesley 15
25 minute pose, ink.
I’d love to be able to do what urban sketchers do, and get loads of detail in not a very long time — or at least be able to filter what’s important to include, and what can be left out. Considering this was 25 minutes, I think I’m getting a little bit better at it. Although I wonder if it’d have looked better in reverse – a lighter model, and dark background.

lesley16

Lesley 16
25 minute pose, ink.

lesley17

Lesley 17
25 minute pose, ink & watercolour
What I love about this piece (above) is the hair and the hair fastener. I’m not so keen on the colour though. I’ve been trying to find a way to introduce a single colour into black ink washes but it’s looking… I don’t know… just “off”. Not too displeased; just not loving it.

lesley18

Lesley 18
Watercolour & watercolour pencil
This piece however, I love. After doing the previous one, I decided to scrap the muted colours for the evening, and go bold. I also got bored of doing additional linework with ink, and remembered that a dark pencil works nicely over watercolours. As the colour wasn’t dry yet, I decided to use a watercolour pencil so that it might catch and bleed a bit in the darker places (like the eyes). I’m going to try really, really hard to remember to try this again.
You can buy the original on my shop >

2 thoughts on “282-285 Lesley”

Leave a Reply

