TMNT Raph by Cat Byrne

Sketchdump: January 2016

2 comments
Journal, Sketchdump, TMNT

Quite often I draw little things in my sketchbooks that don’t quite qualify for individual posts, so I’ve decided to put them all in a “sketchdump” post at the end of each month.

Here is the first of these, including all my little (and mostly awful) sketches from January 2016:

Randoms
I’ve love to be able to urban sketch, or at the very least draw an environment quickly and effectively. So here are some awful, awful sketches of me trying to attempt this, plus an exercise in crosshatching, and some body parts.

January 2016 sketchdump - randoms

Faces
You’ve not seen my previous pages and pages of faces I made last year. In comparison though, these aren’t so bad. IN COMPARISON. Also a couple studies of how Michelangelo cross-hatched his linework (bottom right, obviously).

2016-01_faces

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Well, just Raphael actually.

If you’ve been following this blog, you’ll probably know that I’m trying – for whatever reason – to come up with my own redesign of the TMNT. Well ok, there IS a reason. My dream is to do a pinup for IDW TMNT one day. It would be nice to do a fan comic too. And I know I need to draw a million turtles first to develop my own style for this.

So a few Raph redesigns, one of which looks discouragingly like Homer Simpson. And also a photograph of a 1″ model of a redesigned Raph head made with a kneaded eraser, so I could use it as a model.

2016-01_raphs1

The bottom right one actually was the base for this piece, which didn’t come out too bad.

But I went back to the drawing board and decided to study how other artists draw turtles (below, left). And an original drawing following this excercise (below, right) — which looks good, and recognisable as a ninja turtle.

2016-01_raphs2

(Also some logo sketches for Out of Hours Comics, which me & my friend Mert launched this month).

And finally, back to redesigning, because I can’t help torturing myself.

 

2016-01_raphs3

But I like these actually.

Oh if you like Ninja Turtles, then you should go visit my TMNT blog on tumblr: TMNT Metal.
It’s a collection of cool TMNT art in a wide variety of styles. All credited to their respective artists.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sketchdump: January 2016”

Leave a Reply

