Raph Shady by Cat Byrne

387 – Raph Shady (with video!)

5 comments
1000 drawings, Comic Art, TMNT

A few weeks back I had the idea pop in my head of a Raph stood against a brick wall, looking shady (as he does) and with horns emanating from his head in the form of a graffiti behind him.

Here were the pencils:

Rpah Shady Pencils by Cat Byrne

Then I put the drawing aside and completely forgot about it until I unearthed it doing some tidying.

I’ve been wanting to get better at hand-inking, and now that I have a new lightbox (a really slim, A3 portable LED one, which is an absolute life changer) I thought this drawing would be the perfect candidate to experiment on:

Raph Shady inks by Cat Byrne

It’s kind of a mish mash of crosshatching techniques, and then all my favourite pens dies at the same time. But overall, the look and feel is okay.

Then came colouring time! I’ve always wanted to do one of those timelapse videos, so I researched and installed some software to do that with, and set to it:

And finally, the finished product (which I’ve also posted on tumblr and deviantart)

Buy this print >

Raph shady final by Cat Byrne

Buy this print >

UPDATE!!!

This piece is now also available as a print on wood, which I make by hand from sawing to varnishing. Check it out!!

Raph Shady - TMNT Raphael art - printed wood block by Cat Byrne

“Raph Shady” (TMNT Raphael) 9.5cm x 9.5cm print on wood, with acrylic highlights Β£16 +shipping Click on picture for more information.

5 thoughts on “387 – Raph Shady (with video!)”

  1. I especially enjoyed the part where you were adding the highlights – it looked like lightning playing around his head! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 388 – Hardly Training (TMNT fan art, includes video) | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  3. Pingback: At a glance: Drawings 301-400 | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

  4. Pingback: 450 – Ancient ones | 1000 Drawings by Cat Byrne

Leave a Reply

