Chibi Green Day Billie Joe Armstrong by Cat Byrne for inktober 2016

420 – Billie Joe Armstrong (Inktober day 5)

Leave a comment
1000 drawings, Comic Art, Inktober 2016

Me and my friend (at)greendaygal agreed to do a swap of inktober drawings, because I am in love with her ‘fat pikachus’.

And with Billie Joe Armstrong being to her what Raphael is to me, there was little doubt of what to draw for her.

…which brings me back many years to when I saw Green Day live in Neuchatel in March 1996, as a young little sprout. Crikey where does time go.

Anyway, first up… the pencil sketch. Done in part at wetherspoons, home and the GP waiting room (finally got a scan for my shoulder).

Billie Joe Armstrong pencils by Cat Byrne

Then, the inks!

Chibi Green Day Billie Joe Armstrong by Cat Byrne for inktober 2016

I love the splatter and messy brush stroke thing, it’s so much fun.

Although now the skin my hand and my arm looks like it’s got some weird disease, covered in splattery black dots. May have to start wearing a glove for this…. Indian ink doesn’t wash out too well. Also I’m finding little black dots everywhere now, on the table, on my phone, my pens, my coffee cup… 🙂

Looking forward to my Fat Pikachu now.

Leave a Reply

