mizzle and muggy comic art by cat byrne

436 – Mizzle and Muggy, with video (inktober day 21)

2 comments
1000 drawings, Comic Art, mizzle

Hello again! And thank you very much to those of you who have been supporting my work throughout Inktober – and before! It means a lot to me.

With Thought Bubble coming up (a rather important comic con in Leeds, UK, where I’ll be exhibiting for the first time), I thought I should make a piece with Mizzle and Muggy, to be used for flyers and postcards.

But by luck, I sold a few life drawings and illustrations to an art collector this week, so as fate would have it I now have enough spare budget to get one of those pull up banners! The timing couldn’t have been better, and I am so grateful for it.

As such, I worked this piece on A3, rather than A5.

First up, the rough pencils:

Mizzle and Muggy rough pencils by Cat Byrne

I scanned this and and blew it up to the correct size, then using my lightbox, transfered the drawing to an A3 sheet of bristol with a blue pencil, before inking:

Mizzle and Muggy inks by Cat Byrne for Inktober 2016

From here, I scanned it back in, and removed the blue lines.

…And then coloured it digitally:

Mizzle and Muggy on a rocket - pencils inks and colours by Cat Byrne

Want to see the timelapse of the colour process? I made a video!

If that doesn’t play, here’s the direct link to it on youtube.

UPDATE!
This design is now also available printed on wood, which I make by hand. Have a look!

Mizzle and Muggy surfing on a rocket - printed wood block by Cat Byrne

“Surfing on a rocket” 9.5cm x 12.6cm print on wood, with acrylic highlights £16 +shipping Click on picture for more information.

2 thoughts on “436 – Mizzle and Muggy, with video (inktober day 21)”

Leave a Reply

