Ancient ones - extraterrestrial mushroom race from Mizzle Comic by Cat Byrne

450 – Ancient ones

Leave a comment
1000 drawings, art for sale, Comic Art, mizzle, Nature

I’m working on printed woodblocks at the moment for a couple of Christmas fairs coming up. (As in, prints on woodblocks, not carved woodblock prints)…

Printed wood blocks Art by Cat Byrne

^ This was the first run in progress, which I posted last week over on Instagram.

And here’s a finished test I made using my “Raph Shady” piece, which has worked really well (bar a pre-existing and unfornately placed ink dot, but it was just a test).

Raph Shady TMNT fan art wood block print by Cat Byrne

Most of the pictures I’m using are sketches and drawings I’ve already done, but I wanted to design one just for this purpose:

Ancient ones - extraterrestrial mushroom race from Mizzle Comic by Cat Byrne

…without the wood pattern. That’s just for display purposes.

It’s based on my comic Mizzle’s origin story which I did a while back.
By the way, Mizzle is now available as a printed comic! In case you didn’t know.

But… this particular design didn’t work out so well, so I won’t be making blocks with this drawing. The process doesn’t lend itself well to certain flat colours it seems.

Maybe I’ll use it again for something else, some time.

And stay tuned for the woodblocks! They’re currently drying after being varnished, and I’ll be posting about them soon.

If you’re in the Calder Valley area, do check out the events where I’ll be.

Leave a Reply

