327-328 Christina (life drawing)

Leave a comment
1000 drawings, life-drawing

Firstly, I must apologise to Christina. She is such an amazing model, and I wish these works could have reflected this better.

I struggle a bit with seasonal affective disorder – and perhaps some remnants of post viral fatigue that hit me hard the last couple of years, but I seem to be doing better this year. Still though, there are some days – especially this time of year – where I feel detached from myself. On those days even drawing seems like a strenuous challenge, both physically and mentally. This was definitely one of the harder days.

So here are some of the warmup skecthes:

2016-02-03-christina-1

25 minutes, pastel and charcoal on cartridge paper.

2016-02-03-christina-2

25 minutes, watercolour and watercolour pencil.

christina 26 figure drawing by cat byrne in todmorden

Christina 26
Ink & watercolour, 25 minutes

christina27
Christina 27
25 minutes, ink & watercolour on bristol board.
For the record, this is the first time I’ve tried to use this technique on a female model.

I’ve added extra build lines with a brush, which I think looks very interesting. It’s not at all what I had in mind, but it’s really growing on me.

You can find a link to Christina’s website on my Links page.

Leave a comment